How it all began...

In 1946, shortly after the end of World War II, the two cousins Adil Besim (born in Vienna as Adolf Böhm) and Friedrich Langauer, who had studied business, opened a small rug shop in downtown Vienna. In 1951, the shop relocated to the Graben, one of Vienna’s most famous streets.

In 1956, Ferdi Besim and Fritz Langauer, the shop owners’ sons, joined the family business.

Over the decades, “Adil Besim” grew to become Austria’s largest rug specialty shop with five locations as well as its own rug washing facility and repair shop.

In 1985, the founders’ two grandsons, Omar Besim and Udo Langauer, joined the company.

In 2000, the two families mutually agreed to part ways on amicable terms. As part of splitting up the company, Fritz Langauer took over Oritop in Zurich, which relocated to Vienna in 2005. In 2008, Langauer’s son-in-law Christoph Ziereis joined the company and now serves as its managing director. Fritz Langauer is still active in the company and provides valuable advisory support.

Udo Langauer went on to start his own company, which deals exclusively in high-quality old and antique rugs and carpets. He has also been holding internationally renowned auctions since 2013. His warehouse is located on the premises of Oritop in Brunn am Gebirge, a suburb of Vienna.


www.austriaauction.com

ORITOP Showroom in Brunn am Gebirge near Vienna.

So begann es

1946, kurz nach Ende des Krieges, eröffneten die beiden Cousins Adil Besim (geboren in Wien als Adolf Böhm) und Dkfm. Friedrich Langauer ein kleines Teppichgeschäft im Zentrum Wiens. 1951 übersiedelten sie in auf den Graben in Wien.

1956 kamen die beiden Söhne Ferdi Besim und Fritz Langauer dazu.

Im Laufe der Jahrzehnte entwickelte sich das Unternehmen „Adil Besim“ zum größten Fachgeschäft Österreichs mit fünf Filialen und eigener Teppichwäscherei mit Reparaturwerkstätte.

1985 traten die beiden Enkel der Gründer, Omar Besim und Udo Langauer, in das Unternehmen ein.

Im Jahre 2000 trennten sich die beiden Familien im besten Einvernehmen. Im Zuge dieser Trennung fiel Fritz Langauer die Oritop in Zürich zu, die 2005 nach Wien verlegt wurde. Schwiegersohn Christoph Ziereis kam 2008 zum Unternehmen, das er heute leitet. Senior Fritz ist immer noch tätig und steht beratend zur Seite.

Udo Langauer gründete sein eigenes Unternehmen, das sich ausschließlich mit hochwertigen alten und antiken Teppichen befasst. Seit 2013 hält er international bekannte Auktionen ab. Sein Warenlager befindet sich in den Räumlichkeiten der Oritop in Brunn am Gebirge, einem Vorort von Wien.

www.austriaauction.com

ORITOP Schauraum in Brunn am Gebirge bei Wien.